Best Laid Plans


Next week is Spring Break.  I often get on the other side of breaks like these and feel disappointed.  I either spend the entire break running myself ragged, or I accomplish nothing.  This time, I am determined to set myself up for success.  I want to return to work after this week feeling like I got what I wanted out of this time.  And I have a plan.

Be realistic.  Setting up a long to do list that I could never accomplish has set me up for failure too many times.  I end feeling like I should have done more, when what I wanted to do was impossible in the first place.  Setting expectations for others is another quagmire.  I can’t control whether or not the contractor comes to patch the walls, so setting a goal of painting said walls is not likely to make me feel good when he doesn’t make it.  This year, I’m letting myself get one big thing that I can control done.  That’s it.

Balance. Instead of planning some family activity and/or major chore every day, I’ve planned a couple of things and left the rest open.  I have a family outing planned, some social time with a friend, and some time just for me.  There are no extra points for martyrs, and I need some time to exercise every day, have some time on my own, and make memories with my family.

Forgive.  I’m keeping Grace’s constant singing of “Let it Go” in my head and doing just that.  I may not accomplish everything I could have squeezed into this week, but that’s not really the point. I’ll feel better about doing what I set out to do that I will about not finishing what was ridiculous.  It will all get done eventually.  And if my Easter dinner isn’t amazing, my family will still love me, and they will eat it all anyway.

I promise to take a ton of photos this week, and I may not post Monday – Friday, but I’ll catch up eventually, hopefully with miles of yarn knitted up and some interesting photos of DC in the spring.

Leave a Reply

