Craftsy Tryout & a WIP


A co-worker of mine is an avid knitter, and she was positively gushing about the Craftsy kits.  She watches for when the kits go on sale, and then she snags both the pattern and the yarn for a song.  I’d never tried a kit, and I haven’t done much online shopping for yarn, but I figured I’d give it a go. I hit the website, and browsed their sale kits.  There were two that seemed perfect.

First, I saw this awesome chunky cowl, called Empalme, which would be amazing when the weather gets cool again.  The kit comes with 3 skeins of Manos del Uraguay for only $35.  Manos provides fair labor to women, enabling to provide for their families, and connecting their artistry with knitters around the world.  Neatest touch?  The artisan signs the tag on each skein. (Mine were crafted by Maribel in Dragon, Uraguay.)  I chose the Natural colorway, thinking that when snow does fall again, that this could just feel like a cloud of something warm and soft.

Cowl

DSC_5422I also snagged a basic sock kit called Special Striped Sock so that I could give socks a go this year.  The yarn is Lorna’s Laces, which I’ve never worked with before, but feels soft and smoothy, so I’m thinking it will be awesome. I chose the Zombie BBQ colorway because well, it’s called Zombie BBQ.  The kit was only $19, which is a steal for my first pair of socks.

socks

DSC_5423Even the packaging that everything arrives in is pretty adorable.  I love the “No more waiting, time for creating!” tagline along the bottom.

DSC_5418These are going on the enormous stash waiting for me to plow through it.  In the meantime, here is one of the projects on the needles right now, a Magrathea shawl in Hazel Knits Entice MCN gorgeousness.  The blue is just amazing.  Perfect for a spring gift for someone special.

DSC_5424

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Craftsy Tryout & a WIP

  1. I’ve never heard of those kits will have to check them out. I love Lorna’s Laces yarn..and I scrolled through your posts to find out what the blue yarn in the shawl is, since it is an amazing blue

Leave a Reply

