yarn along // new cowl


First, sorry for the late post.  I threw my back out this week, so everything is off.

But, I have a new project, and a new book, and thought I would share.

DSC_0086The book is The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling.  I don’t know how I feel about it so far.  It reminds me a lot of the Valentine’s Day and New Year’s Day movies, where there are dozen different plots competing, but I’m stick with it.

DSC_0080The project is the Alice cowl.  This is getting whipped up for a birthday present using the Fibre Company’s Road to China Light yarn.  I love the feel of it, although the dye is coming off on my fingers.  I’m a little worried what will happen with the lighter color stripe when I attempt to block this.

DSC_0075Any suggestions?  Has anyone out there worked with this yarn before who can save me before I ruin it???

5 thoughts on “yarn along // new cowl

  1. lovely cowl and I adore that stripe, very pretty detail! I read 178 pages then gave up but my daughter loved the book (she’s an adult). Good luck with continue readings!!

  2. I think the Rowling book had a slow start. There’s a lot of character development and set up happening. The book definitely picks up speed. It’s a bit like a roller coaster – that slow crank up to the top of the first hill and then whoa!
    It’s NOT Harry Potter.

    1. Oh good. I’ll stick with it. I just picked up a bunch of things I’m excited about from the library today, so I’m motivated!

Leave a Reply

