yarn along // final lintilla


DSC_0339I swear to you, this will be my final Yarn Along for this project.  I am determined to finish it before next Wednesday.  Determined.  To the point that I know I’m doing something wrong, and yet I am giving myself permission to move it along.

DSC_0341I don’t know what’s happening here.  The idea is that you knit the body pattern until you have about 1/4 of your yarn left, and then you knit up along the other edge, creating a ruffle.  Somehow, the wraps and turns combining with knitting two stitches together has baffled me at some points.

DSC_0342For the most part, I think it looks pretty good.  And I’m deciding the let the awkward bits go.  I remind myself that if I wanted to give a perfect gift, I would buy it at the store. And the recipient won’t even notice my novice mistakes.  I think she will just be wowed by the amazing color and feel of this gorgeous yarn.

We’ll see how well I do.  I have  suspicious feeling that it will get ripped back to the beginning of the edging pattern and begun anew, but I’m going to attempt to reign in my insane desire for order, and let it happen.

p.s.  I do so solemnly swear that I will have finished the book All Wrapped Up too.  That thing has been sadly renewed one too many times.

23 thoughts on “yarn along // final lintilla

  1. I think the knitting looks fine! Hopefully once you are done and it’s completely off the needles you’ll feel the same. sometimes I have projects that are on the needles for a very long time.

    1. I’m glad I’m not the only one! I think you are right. Once I see the whole piece, I think the mistakes will seem a little less glaring.

  2. I have said that many times before “I will NOT be posting another yarn along for this project”. It kept me motivated though! I love the color of that yarn. Very very pretty!

    1. Thank you! I love it too, and was happy to pull it out of the stash. I’ll post a picture once it’s gifted as well!

  3. i would be deeply moved to receive such a gift! your knitting looks beautiful and even if there are some small errors, they don’t matter, and they are a good learning experiance i think!

    1. I think you are right. I learn with every project I take on. I hope you are right! This is for someone very special!

  4. Popped over from Yarn Along … I’m not sure what your project is (cowl? shawl?), but the colour is beautiful! I know what you mean about mistakes and trying to look ahead. I feel the exact same way, but it’s like an itch and eventually I tear it back and try sorting it out. I hope you can stay strong and keep going if it’s not that noticeable! It looks gorgeous to me 🙂 Wendy

    1. Thank you! I’m making a shawlette. You can find the pattern on Ravelry – it’s title Lintilla.

    2. It’s a small shawl. I’m glad I’m not the only one out there who obsessively fixes things. I just laid it out for blocking, so I’ll post results!

  5. I love the color of your shawl. As for the mistake, the receipient will never notice unless they are the perfect knitter. I made a shawl for my SIL for Christmas and there were several mistakes I noticed after the fact and I was not going to rip it out to that point. I figured she’ll never notice.

Leave a Reply

