Gardening Vicariously


I can’t grow anything.  I mean, anything.  Which is one of the reasons I love working in a school with over 10,000 square feet of gardens.  I get to help out, and I get to feel like part of growing something special, and there is someone there to tell me what to do.

This afternoon, I was walking through the student garden to get Gracie from aftercare, and I snapped a couple photos.  My favorite thing about this garden is that it is completely student created.  They design the layout, plant the seeds, transplant seedlings, water, weed, and tend.  Every sign is student-created, and kids get to walk past the tulips or the lettuce and know that it was theirs.  It’s pretty special, particularly since so much of our population live in apartments (or live in black thumb households like mine) and don’t get a chance to garden.

Our kids get the chance to eat food they have grown, observe flowers they have planted, and build literacy authentically in our garden, and it makes me proud.

DSC_0147

DSC_0148

DSC_0152

If you are interested in learning more about our lovely gardens and the special school they surround, you can read about The First Lady’s visit a few years ago here.

Leave a Reply

