Diary of a Vacay, Part I


So, I took the last two weeks off to go on a vacation and then to recover from said vacation in piles of work.  I’ll post favorite photos from the trip throughout the week.

My Dad passed away in January, and I have been slowly taking care of his affairs.  Among his goodies was a house that he had just purchased a home in the Villages, Florida.  My brother and I decided to enjoy the property just once, before we put it on the market.  He drove all of his kids down, and I drove down with my good friend Carmela and with Gracie girl.  We stopped for a night in Savannah, Georgia with grand plans to photograph for hours.

Sadly the rain had other plans, but we did get some fun shots.

Image

Image

With all the rain, we mostly ducked into places, including a beautiful yarn shop called The Frayed Knot.  It was a cute little shop with a helpful staff and charming yarn bombing everywhere.  I snagged a couple of balls of yarn to make a ruffly scarf that I found on Ravelry in a soft sage color.

Image

With all the rain, we decided to commit to come back to this charming town, and pile into the car to finish the long drive to The Villages.  Of course, because it’s Carm and I, no visit to any city would be complete without a stop in a cupcakery.

Viola!  Back in the Day Bakery!

Image

Image

Image

Image

After eating the best chocolate cupcake I have ever had, we made our way to the Villages, and joined forced with the rest of my family.  I won’t submit the million photos I took here, but here are a couple of cuties.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

